Contemplation

In the wake of yet another Orthodox Easter, it seems appropriate to contemplate.

Is this a religious post? Hmm. I’m not sure yet. Let’s see what happens.

Am I religious? Hmm.

I have always thought about the message of Easter as something truly special. Christmas is about birth, about the beginning, it is an optimistic message in its own. Easter is about decadence, humiliation, suffering, death, and then… transcending it all.

I remember distinctly my elementary school teacher. She was such a  kind, loving woman, with such a calming voice. She would gather us around her, she would take her Bible, and she would start reading to us from it. Her face was so expressive, she would narrate it to us like it was the most beautiful tale. I believe that, to her, it was. With this, she always managed to soothe us, 12 kids aged 7, in the middle of the day, listening to her, hoping that she would continue reading and let us know what happens next. We loved that woman.

When I finished elementary school, she also finished teaching, we were her last class. For some reason still unknown to me, she chose to give me the Bible from which she was reading to us. That book is now long lost, misplaced in one of my many hometowns. But I read it at least once, I remember that I did. Out of sheer respect for my teacher, I read that book in her voice. The book is now long gone, but I will forever keep this warm feeling that my teacher gifted me.

When I moved to Greece, Easter took on a quite different meaning. It is one of the most important holidays there, and it is the day in which families get together, everyone is around, helping as they can, there is food, there are drinks, music, happiness all around… it is truly a happy day. If there is one holiday that I would need to single out as my favorite, it must be Easter, since it’s during my favorite season. The focus of the whole thing, at least from the perspective that I was able to gain, is the food. It is a huge religious holiday, but it’s also the day where you eat so much that for the next few days you feel disgusted at the sight of meat, quite literally. Not that I consider that a bad thing, mind you, I do my fair share of meat-eating.

Something that they do in Greece, or at least in Crete, during this holiday is the traditional burning of Judas. They construct this puppet from rags and sticks, supposed to represent Judas, and they “hang” him over a pile of flammable material. Then at midnight, as soon as the priest announces the resurrection of Jesus, they light the pile on fire and Judas burns, recreating the story narrated in the Bible. I must admit, that is quite the sight to behold.

I guess traditions vary. As do perceptions. As do convictions. For some people, Easter is one of the few occasions to reconnect with others. For some, it is just another Sunday. For me, it depends.

It is extraordinarily surprising, however, almost uncanny actually, how certain events unfold right in the wake of certain events. I know, my phrase could not have been more vague or presumptuous. Such a presumptuous word that one, “presumptuous”. Kind of like the word for “difficult” in Japanese, which is quite difficult (むずかしい, muzukashii). But I’m diverging, let me converge again.

It is always a point of reflection for me to meet someone and share a moment with them, getting to know them better. It always makes me feel like I am getting to know myself a bit more. But it doesn’t happen too often to talk with someone who is quite literally a copy of me. Experiences, perceptions, opinions, goals… what is it that makes a person what they are? Well, whatever it is, my set is not unique, which is quite rare for my entourage. And I was lucky enough to meet this person and discuss with him.

I must say, it was an enlightening experience. It’s like looking in a mirror, but the mirror is talking back. So you say a thought, and there is an unexpected answer that could well have been yours but in different words. It’s like listening to your thoughts, but you haven’t thought them yet. And you understand the whole process behind these thoughts, and you understand that this person also understands your process. So you can talk about what you want, what you really want, sincerely and without fear, because you know that this person knows, and they are not going to mock you. And they think about your dream, and they put themselves in it, and you’re in the same place at that moment.

It makes you think, really. Well, it made me think, anyway. Looking into my mirror image, talking about my dream, seeing his reaction, listening to his thoughts… they were my thoughts, spoken in his words. It is one of those things that seem small, but he reminded me of the real value of many things. He took me back to a place that I had forgotten, he reminded me of where I started from. He took me along the path so far, and looked over with me, telling me what he sees. I guess I needed this kind of clarity, if only for just a few moments.

So, I guess in the wake of the triumph of life over death, I should wish you this kind of clarity. Reflect. Remember. Contemplate.

But, most of all… appreciate. All the good things in your life, all the exceptional people, all the mundane and special moments. Every last bit of it. Appreciate and savor it.

Leave a comment